Daily Prompt: Ugly

I have been away from the computer for a few days, so this will be a day full of Daily Post Challenges. I initially had no idea what I would show for the prompt UGLY, so much so that I was going to skip it all together. Then I realised I had the perfect photos, from one of the saddest, ugliest places I have ever visited.

These photos were taken at the Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Phnom Penh. This building was a high school before being transformed into a prison by members of the Khmer Rouge, under Pol Pot’s instruction. It is unknown how many Cambodian’s were tortured and killed in this prison during the Khmer Rouge Genocide, but it is believed to be between     17 000 and 20 000.

Even now, over 30 years later, the building seems to emit sadness and despair from its very walls. It is impossible to speak above a whisper, as I walked through the rooms I felt oppressed by the pain and suffering that had occurred here. I didn’t take very many photos because it felt almost sacrilegious, but these are some of the few I took.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATorture and interrogation rooms where the final 14 victims were found by Vietnamese soldiers OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMakeshift prison cells OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEach room was divided into crudely constructed prison cells by the Khmer Rouge.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA tiny amount of light was let into each cell through a window in the door.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABarbed wire to prevent escape and suicide attempts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Graffiti and messages of love and hope left by visitors to the Genocide Museum.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ugly

  1. I have twice been to Phnom Penh and both times elected not to go here. I’m not sure I could cope. I also can’t “like” this but admire your fortitude.

    • I agree Andrew, it was a very overwhelming experience which left me very drained. I couldn’t take photographs of the remains which were on display, even though everyone else was. I spent a lot of time sitting in the courtyard of the school trying to get my head around it. Still haven’t.

Leave a Reply

