Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster

This is an interesting challenge over at The Daily Post: ‘When was the last time you were really, truly jealous of someone’. I guess I am jealous of people, on some level, all the time. But I don’t think it is ever an all consuming jealousy that turns my skin a pale shade of green…

Then I started looking through my photos. And I realised something. I am jealous of MYSELF, the younger me, the girl who could flit off on a holiday or move across the country at the drop of a hat. Nostalgia is a funny thing, I look back on those golden days as though they were unflawed, somehow all the tears and dramas have evaporated to leave only good memories.

Of course this is a myth, constructed by my mind. But I am grateful for it. Because I know that in ten years, I’ll look back on 2013 and be envious of the person I was then.

So these are some green themed photos of my travels, tinged with nostalgia.

_MG_6867Pigs snoozing on the 309 Road – Coromandel, New Zealand

_MG_6883Abandoned shack on the 309 Road – Coromandel, New Zealand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASettlements on the train line – Ayutthaya to Bangkok, Thailand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAView from our hut – Koh Chang, Thailand

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFoliage amongst the stone – Angkor Wat, Cambodia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPond choked by algae – Wat Ta Phrom, Cambodia 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGarden in the National Museum – Phnom Penh, Cambodia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAManning the boat – Rabbit Island, Cambodia

Leave a Reply

