Shades of Angkor

Inspired by a fellow blogger over at retireediary I decided to dig up some of my old photos of Cambodia. Despite having not been there in five years, Cambodia is still one of my favourite countries in the world. I loved everything about it, the scenery, the food, the simplicity, and especially the people. They were warm, welcoming and very accommodating. These photos were taken on my basic point-and-shoot that I had at the time, I have tried to enhance them where I could.

I am currently sponsoring a child over in Phnom Penh, and I can’t wait for the day when I have enough time and money to travel over there and meet her.

The above photograph is of sunrise at Angkor Wat. You can see the scaffolding where they were working on repairs to the temple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Sunset at Phnom Bakheng

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASunrise at Angkor Wat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFriendly monkey at Angkor Wat 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wat Ta Phrom of Tomb Raider fame.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy favourite temple – Wat Bayon. This is the only temple of Angkor that was built as a Mahayana Buddhist shrine. It is suggested that the faces are representative of both Buddha and the king at the time, Jayavarman VII.

7 thoughts on “Shades of Angkor

Leave a Reply

