Weekly Photo Challenge – From Above

Here is my first ever attempt at the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge. These are my photo’s ‘From Above’, taken of the Great Barrier Reef during a helicopter tour. It was one of the best experiences of my life, and one of the most magical things I have ever seen. The reef is just as beautiful from the sky as it is underwater.

_MG_4888

 _MG_4908

The dark blue through the centre of this shot is an ancient river which ran through this area when the reef was mountains, millions of year ago.

_MG_4897

I like this shot because you can see the curve of the earth. Out on the reef you feel a million miles from anywhere.

   _MG_4891

In the centre of this photo is the heart reef, the most photographed location in the entire Great Barrier Reef. It is a truly amazing natural occurrence.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – From Above

  1. Good Evening: I’ve spent a weekend at Lady Elliot Island. Where did you take these (impressive!) photographs? I don’t know where the Heart Reef is located in relation to L.E I. Vonn Scott Bair

    • Hi there! I just had a look and Lady Elliot Island is quite a way down south, close to the start of the reef. I lived on an island in the Whitsundays, right at the top, roughly a 45 minute helicopter ride from heart reef, which is on Hardy Reef. Hardy is in the midst of a collection of reef named Hook, Line, Sinker and Barb, which I think is hilarious. Thanks for the follow!

Leave a Reply

